MAKING HISTORY: Women Make History in Senate and New Hampshire

A BIG thank you to the women who took on the U.S. political establishment last night and secured historic victories. Of note is an incredibly telling victory in New Hampshire, which is now the first and only state with an all female congressional delegation:

Serving in the U.S. House from New Hampshire:
Ann McLane Kuster (D)
Carol Shea-Porter(D)

Taking their seats in the U.S. Senate from New Hampshire (unseating two male challengers)

Kelly Ayotte (R)
Jeanne Shaheen (D)


New Hampshire’s Governor is Maggie Hassan (D)

In the U.S. Senate, 20 women will serve in the 113th Congress, up from 17.

Newly Elected:

Mazie Hirono (D) Hawaii

Elizabeth Warren (D) Massachusetts

Deb Fischer (R) Nebraska

Heidi Heitkamp (D) North Dakota* (too close to call, but we’re hopeful)

Tammy Baldwin (D) Wisconsin


Maria Cantwell (Wash.)

Dianne Feinstein (D) California

Kirsten Gillibrand (D) New York

Amy Klobuchar (D) Minnesota

Claire McCaskill (D) Missouri

Debbie Stabenow (D) Michigan

Currently Serving:

Patty Murray (D) Washington

Lisa Murkowski (R) Alaska

Dianne Feinstein (D) California

Barbara Boxer (D) California

Susan Collins (R) Maine

Mary Landrieu (D) Louisiana

Jeanne Shaheen (D) New Hampshire

Kelly Ayotte (R) New Hampshire

Kay Hagen (D) North Carolina

You’ve come a long way, . Madam Senator.